the story

| FR |

2586. Post-industrial civilization has collapsed. After the shock, society has reorganized into communities where agrarian self-management has become the norm: for many an ecological utopia has become a reality. In this context, a sect nostalgic for the technological era, marginalized and persecuted, gathers around the Cvlt of the Algorithm. It’s followers reject the eco-realistic philosophy of the inevitable return to the land. Their church: a bunker that used to be a data center. Their saints: Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, beatified for having designed the algorithm in the ancient world. The ultimate goal of a cvltist is the Dematerialization, which will bind his soul to others in paradise: the Clovd.


Many ex-digital artists have joined the Cvlt. They paint wall art in pixels form, carve out squares in stone to fake screens, try to relight dead pixels out of electronic waste. It is told that with each appearance of the Techno-Pope -the Prometheus of the high connection- an initiate is chosen for an awakening ritual by uploading his soul to the Clovd. The Great Server brings the community together around the Prism and and guides the Chosen One through an audiovisual trance to the absolution of his flesh.

SANCTVS ALGORITHMVS – Extract from the SaintData

Eigengrau is an immersive performance by eqko collective which combines digital stage design, concert and choreography in a futuristic tale which relates a spiritual quest in a world where digital technology has disappeared. It is conducted by its both authors and performers : Raphael Foulon, digital and audiovisual artist, Celine Signoret, choreographer and stage manager, and Benjamin Vedrenne, visual and plastic artist, electro costume designer.

This story is wondering of an art that has become dependent on new technologies and the resilience of the human society to digital environment. It is shaped by specific concerns of our age, offering a critical eye on certain technological uses, study of ecological metamorphoses on our bodies, existentialist thought in the search for oneself, its body and the concept of emptiness.


The show features a ceremony of the Cult of the Algorithm and stages a futuristic temple decorated with the technological remains of an extinct civilization. At its center an 8-foot high prism, bathed in light, serves as a choreographic playground for the Initiate, guided by the characters of the Grand-Priest and the Techno-Pope. In a mysterious atmosphere, the ceremony involves video projections on tulle and smoke screens, interactive lights interplays to the rhythm of a trance made of noise music and mesmerizing drums. Dance, visuals and sound come together in a live performance inviting to live an immersive experience where all senses are activated.

Extracts :


NEXT PERFORMANCES

06.22.2020 // BRUSSELS // Perpetuum Mobile Festival (postponed to 2021)
09.19.1019 // PARIS // Chateau Ephemere
07.26-27.2019 // COUCOOL festival
06.08.2019 // PARIS // ¡SAUVAGE SONIQUE? Villette Sonique @Cabaret Sauvage
05.04.2019 // LILLE // LilleVJ fest 19′ @Volume Ouvert

LilleVJfest19' ©AkimMokrani



CREDITS
EIGENGRAU // Immersive performance ∞ AUDIO ∞ VIDEO ∞ DANCE
Concept: eqko collective
Video, music: Raphael Foulon
Choreography, staging: Celine Signoret
Set design, electro costumes: Benjamin Vedrenne
Post-connection rituals performed by Raphael Foulon, Celine Signoret, Benjamin Vedrenne

Photos 1+2 ©eqko ; Photo 3 LilleVJfest19′ ©AkimMokrani

l’histoire

| EN |

2586. La civilisation post-industrielle s’est effondrée. Après le choc, la société s’est réorganisée en communautés où l’autogestion agraire est devenue la norme: pour beaucoup une utopie écologique est devenue réalité. Dans ce contexte une secte de nostalgiques de l’ère technologique, marginalisé·es et persécuté·es, s’organisent sous le Cvlte de l’Algorithme. I·elles rejettent la philosophie écolo-réaliste du retour inéluctable à la terre. Leur église : un bunker qui servait de datacenter. Leurs saints : Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, béatifiés pour avoir conçu l’algorithme dans l’ancien monde. Le but ultime d’un·e cvltiste est la Dématérialisation, qui liera son âme aux autres dans un paradis : le Clovd.

De nombreux·ses ex-artistes numériques ont rejoint le Cvlte. I·elles peignent des œuvres d’art pariétales sous forme de pixels, taillent des carrés dans la pierre pour singer les écrans, tentent de rallumer les pixels morts à partir de déchets électroniques. L’histoire raconte qu’à chaque apparition du Techno-Pape – le Prométhée de la Haute Connexion – un·e initié·e est choisi·e pour un rituel d’éveil en téléversant son âme dans le Clovd. Le Grand Serveur rassemble la communauté autour du Prisme et guide l’Élu·e par une transe sonore et visuelle jusqu’à l’absolution de sa chair.

SANCTVS ALGORITHMVS – Extrait de la SainteData


Eigengrau est une performance immersive du collectif eqko qui allie scénographie numérique, concert et chorégraphie autour d’un conte d’anticipation relatant une quête spirituelle dans un monde où la technologie numérique a disparu. Elle est portée par ses auteur·es et interprètes Raphaël Foulon, artiste visuel numérique et auteur, Céline Signoret, chorégraphe et metteuse en scène, et Benjamin Vedrenne, artiste visuel, plasticien et électro-costumier.

Ce récit pose la question d’un art devenu dépendant des nouvelles technologies et de la résilience de la société humaine numérique. Il se nourrit de préoccupations propres à notre époque en offrant un regard critique sur certains usages technologiques, étude des métamorphoses écologiques sur nos corps, pensée existentialiste dans la recherche de soi, de son corps et de la notion de vide.

Le spectacle met en scène une cérémonie du culte de l’Algorithme prenant place dans un temple futuriste orné des vestiges technologiques d’une civilisation éteinte. En son centre trône un prisme nimbé de lumière, qui sert de terrain de jeu chorégraphique à l’Initié, guidé par les personnages du Grand Serveur et du Techno-Pape. Dans une ambiance mystérieuse, la cérémonie fait intervenir des vidéoprojections sur tulle et écrans de fumée, des jeux de lumières interactifs, au rythme d’une transe alliant musique noise et percussions envoûtantes. La danse, les visuels et le son s’unissent dans une interprétation live invitant à vivre une expérience immersive où tous les sens sont conviés.

Extraits :


PROCHAINES PERFORMANCES

22.06.2020 // BRUXELLES // Perpetuum Mobile Festival (reporté en 2021)
19.09.1019 // PARIS // Château Ephémère (Carrières-sous-Poissy)
26-27.07.2019 // COUCOOL festival
08.06.2019 // PARIS // ¡SAUVAGE SONIQUE? Villette Sonique @Cabaret Sauvage
04.05.2019 // LILLE // LilleVJ fest 19′ @Volume Ouvert

LilleVJfest19' ©AkimMokrani



CREDITS
EIGENGRAU // Performance immersive ∞ AUDIO ∞ VIDEO ∞ DANSE
Conception: eqko collective
Audio, Vidéo: Raphael Foulon
Mise en scène, chorégraphie: Celine Signoret
Electro-costumes, décors: Benjamin Vedrenne
Rituels post-connexion interprétés par Raphael Foulon, Celine Signoret, Benjamin Vedrenne

Photos 1+2 ©eqko ; Photo 3 LilleVJfest19′ ©AkimMokrani